Pink Giraffe 1st Birthday Cake

16 Sep

Pink Giraffe Cake

This cake was a blast to make! I loved being able to get creative and make a cute ‘lil cake for my friend’s baby’s 1st Birthday that was age appropriate and a bit unconventional…however, in today’s day and age, cake is anything but conventional any more…

This cake featured a Vanilla Cake Batter with Vanilla Buttercream and was finished with fondant detail. (I highly recommend Satin Ice (it can be ordered online) or Duff Goldman’s brand of fondant is also very good, but a bit pricy. The Duff Fondant can be found at any Michael’s Craft Store).

I based the design of this cake off of a Birthday Theme that I found on 1stwishes.com. (If you want to check out the theme to get ideas for a cake you want to make, or to view the packet for your child’s next birthday, visit 1stwishes.com and look up “Giraffe 1st Birthday”, or Google it and it should bring up the URL for the website).

To add a bit more detail to make the cake extra special, I decided to cover the cakeboard in fondant and decorate it to fit the theme of the party. So, this cute little giraffe is resting on a pale blue backdrop that features some leaf detail (I used leaf cookie cutters to cut out the fondant shapes), a sweet little lady bug (who matches the colors of the giraffe), and a Birthday greeting.

I also made 1 dozen cupcakes that were also Vanilla with a Pink-tinted Buttercream Frosting, alongside a Smash Cake for the birthday girl. (A quick tip: Use a Cupcake Tower to make the cupcakes and/or smash cake a centerpiece for the party. There are multiple options for stands out there: Wilton stands that can be purchased at craft stores such as Michael’s and plastic, metal, and specialty stands that can be ordered online at such sites as efavormart.com).

 

 

8 Responses to “Pink Giraffe 1st Birthday Cake”

  1. Anna Bruce September 16, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Very Cute!!!!!

  2. Estelle September 16, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Loved the cute giraffe.

  3. qtcdn February 16, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    OMG< I hope I can pull something like this off for my mother's bday brunch on Sunday. She LOVE giraffes and I'm doing an entire "theme" for a 64 yr old woman! 🙂 Thanks!!!

  4. kayla brincat July 18, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    hi i really love this cake but i need a bit of help!!! it is for my daughters first birthday and we are having 60 people approx including kids so how much cakes would i need and what is the best way to cut out the shape??

    • Punkin's Cake Shoppe September 10, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      Kayla, I apologize for the late response! As I mentioned to Brittany’s comment, I have not been on the blog in quite some time. Please read the comments I have listed under the Giraffe cake as to what I did to make the shape, etc. You haev to be a bit creative! For 60 people, I would recommend that you refer to the Serving chart that I have on the blog. I use “Earlene’s Cake Serving Chart” to determine sizing b/c it’s based on a bigger slice than the Wilton cake cutting guide. I hope your daugher’s birthday was a success, and I apologize again! I hope this tip helps you in the future if you try to attept this, or any other cake! Best of luck!

  5. Brittany August 23, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Super cute cake! Just wondering where u got the cake pan or how you got the cake shape????

    • Punkin's Cake Shoppe September 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      Hi Brittany. I apologize for the late response, but I have actually not been on the blog for quite some time now. Thank you for liking the Pink Giraffe Cake! It was super fun to make, but it does require some creativity and time on your part. I did not have a pan for this cake…I cut everything out by hand! I found a picture of a giraffe that I liked online and copied and pasted the image to a Word doc. I then blew the picture up to the desired size, printed it out, and cut out a template to use for a cake base. I cut a cake board to the size needed and then used that to cut the actual cake to size. With cakes like these, you oftentimes have you be creative on your own and use the tools you have to make it special. Michaels and other craft stores have amazing cake pans these days by Wilton and other brands found on sites like bakerskitchen.com. I hope this helps!

  6. http://google.com February 13, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    “Pink Giraffe 1st Birthday Cake Punkin’s Cake Shoppe” ended up being a extremely excellent blog, . Continue creating and I am going to continue reading through! Many thanks -Maggie

Leave a comment