Whimsical Melody Birthday Cake

3 Apr

This weekend was one full of birthdays! When March and April roll around in my family, that means that it’s time to get together as a family and celebrate not one, not two, but 5 birthdays!! Yes, 5! (We’ve recently inaugerated my aunt’s puppy Max into the birthday club).

So, in order to celebrate, we of course needed a cake! Now, out of all the birthdays celebrated, only one of those lucky few is a girl–my cousin Kelsey. And being the only girl, we all felt it was necessary to dedicate this birthday celebration to her, and thus make a cake that was suitable for her tastes.

The cake that ensued was the one in the above pictures! I have to say, this is one of my favorites that I’ve made to date. It’s a beautiful marriage of a whimsical, kind of faerie tale (and yes, I did spell faerie correctly…I use the British spelling… ;)…) cake and a music-themed cake. Kelsey loves to sing and play guitar, so I definately wanted to put that element into the cake, and I managed to do that by incorporating music notes into the spiral designs.

The cake also included fondant detail work, which consisted of fondant flowers, with two fondant roses sitting atop the cake. The flowers were dusted with pink and green pearl dust to give it that luster that goes along with a whimsical theme. The piping was done in Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting to mimic vines and of course, the music notes.

The cake, as requested, was my traditional Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting.

Happy Birthday Kelsey….and Dad…and Robert…and Paw (who has had the best birthday present of us all because he’s already with the Lord)…and yes, even Max, our friendly four-legged Bruce-boy. 🙂

4 Responses to “Whimsical Melody Birthday Cake”

  1. Mom April 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Yummy, Red Velvet!!! Great job….

    • Punkin's Cake Shoppe April 3, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      Thank you Mom. 🙂

  2. Estelle April 3, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Wow!!! What a cake.You put a lot of work into this one.What size cakes did you use?I have never made a tiered cake.I will have to try one some day.
    Hope all had a good time today at Maw’s.

    • Punkin's Cake Shoppe April 3, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Thank you Estelle! I used a 6 inch round for the top tier and an 8 inch round for the bottom. Each tier was three layers. 🙂 I love making tiered cakes–you just have to make sure you have good supports in the bottom tier to secure that the top doesn’t sink into the bottom cake. I actually use lollipop sticks for the supports…a good ‘lil tip if you ever try to make one. 🙂 And we did all enjoy the time up at Maw’s house! Y’all have a good week! 🙂

Leave a comment