Dad’s Hunting-Themed Birthday Cake

25 Mar

This cake is a special one to me because it’s for my Dad!!

My original plan was to try and make a 3D version of a buck (a male deer) for Dad, since he’s a hunter and my parents’ house looks like a hunting lodge with the amount of stuffed animals (and no, I’m not talking about teddy bears here…) in it… So, to say the least, hunting is one of Dad’s hobbies and one that I wanted to try and put into cake. Well, to make a long story short…the 3D buck did not work…at all…in fact it never had a chance. ;P

Let’s just say due to overly hopeful thinking and a lack of sturdy cake batter, the cake didn’t have a good support system. Oh, well…I will live to bake another day…

So, on to Plan B!

I remade the cake for my dad in the form of a typical 13×9 sheetcake, and decided to decorate the cake like a camo/hunting cake. After getting the handy-dandy airbrush out, and the few scraps of fondant that I could work my magic with, the cake you guys see up top is what came out. I was actually really happy with the cake, and still got to put a deer on it…well, the hind end of one!

The cake was made of, *cough, cough* a certain boxed cake brand (because my dad wanted it people…everything I make, I really do make from scratch!) and featured MY traditional Vanilla Buttercream Frosting.

Happy Birthday Dad!

One Response to “Dad’s Hunting-Themed Birthday Cake”

  1. Estelle March 26, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Good job.Tell the big guy “Happy Birthday” tomorrow for me.

Leave a comment