Birthday Girl Red Velvet Cake

11 Mar

A sweet, sweet co-worker of mine requested that I make a special little Birthday Cake for her sister, for her birthday celebration this weekend!

I was told the Birthday Girl loved all things girly…such as purses, lipstick, make-up, cute little dresses, and so on. So, knowing that I couldn’t fit everything on the cake that I wanted, I chose to do a simple, but very girly design.

The cake itself was my Traditional Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting, but in order to spruce it up a bit, I decided to pull out the Fondant for some cutsie detail work. With my newly purchased Wedding Dress Cookie Cutter, I cut out the design for a sweet little dress, and decided to make a red dress for the special occassion. The fondant dress was airbrushed with Red food coloring and finished off with Royal Icing detail piping to give some definition to the overall look.

The cake was then finished with red sprinkles, distributed atop the cake over the “ruffle” Cream Cheese border.

For an extra special touch, I wanted to incorporate one of the Birthday Girl’s special loves…shoes. So, on the back of the cake, I added a fondant high heel shoe, also airbrushed red, and finished off with Red Royal Icing detail piping and a “Birthday Queen” message.

Chiquita, I wish you the happiest of birthdays and I hope you and your friends and family enjoy the cake. Thank the Lord for His many blessings and another year of life!

2 Responses to “Birthday Girl Red Velvet Cake”

  1. Estelle March 11, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Another beautiful cake.How do you like the airbrush? I have never used one.

    • Punkin's Cake Shoppe March 11, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      Thanks! I love, love, love my airbrush!! It makes getting a flawless look super easy!

Leave a comment